|Clan Macpherson Museum|
"Here are Housed the Relics and Memorials of Rich Historical Interest not only to Scottish Clansmen but to all of Whatever Race they may be who are Attracted by the Story of High Resolve Patriotism and Loyalty". So reads the proclamation at the door of the museum.
It reflects the desire on the part of Clansmen from Scotland and abroad to bring together, house and display the history and culture of the clan at home and abroad. In 1943, in Glasgow, the contents of Cluny Castle, the historical home of the Chief of the Clan Macpherson, were put on public sale. Following a worldwide subscription by members of the Clan Macpherson, not easy during the dark days of war, leading clansmen purchased all the principal Relics at reasonable prices. Realising the anxiety and determination displayed by the Macpherson buyers to regain their historical Clan possessions, brought about a "gentleman's agreement" by the other potential purchasers to allow the Macpherson's to regain their treasures.
The Relics remained in storage until accommodated in the Clan House and Museum, which was officially opened in August 1952. Today, these treasures together with others that have since been donated form the unique display that has been enjoyed by thousands of visitors over the years.
The Museum is open from 1st April to 31st October, Mondays to Saturdays: 10.00 am to 5.00 pm and Sundays: 12.00 pm to 5.00 pm. We look forward to welcoming you.