This was originally a house called Dochanassie owned by the Leslie family. The Leslies had been blacksmiths in several villages in Badenoch since the 18th century. Their premises included the smiddy opposite the Eilan.
William Leslie acquired the plot in 1907 on a feu charter granted by CJB Macpherson of Balavil and the house was built around 1908. William's wife Marion was a Cameron from Lochaber and it is believed they named the house after Dochanassie near Loch Lochy.
In the 1920s their son John ran a tailor's business in the house. In 1937 Dochanassie was sold to the Misses Macpherson, who added a conservatory in which they ran a tea room. In 1945 Mr & Mrs Munro bought the house and ran it as a guest house. In 1947 it changed hands again and became a post office, run by John Macpherson. He sold it in 1951 to the Clan Macpherson Association and the museum opened the following year. Ironically the house served as both a post office and tea room in the TV series Monarch of the Glen.
The museum houses fascinating documents, artefacts and paintings relating to the history of the Clan Macpherson and notable clansmen. These include Cluny of the '45, who supported Bonnie Prince Charlie in the 1745 Jacobite rising and had to hide out in Badenoch for nine years before escaping to France; and James Macpherson whose publication of the Ossian poems in the 1760s created the romantic view of the Highlands.
The Museum is open from April to October and admission is free. For further information see http://www.clanmacphersonmuseum.org.uk/
E.S.L. Macpherson (2004) "Dochanassie: A Short History of the Clan House", Creag Dhubh no 56, 18-21.